Posted by: angiefm | November 9, 2010

A Month with Charlotte Mason

Here is another resource post.  This one is for anyone who wants to get a feel of some parts of the “Charlotte Mason way” during the upcoming school holidays when it is risk-free to try something new.  🙂

Last year, I put together a collection of stories, biographies, pictures, copywork selections, etc and blogged about it here: https://teachingourown.wordpress.com/2009/04/07/a-month-with-cm/.

Since then, a number of people have asked me for the book but I have not had the time or the energy to print it.  And they have asked me for the file, but I couldn’t figure out how to send such a large file. 

But … ah … I have become more technologically savvy since and figured out how to post pdf files to this blog!  So here you are.  For absolutely FREE!  Presenting …

A Month with Charlotte Mason!  Go Crazy!  🙂

Some words of caution

  • the timeline figures in the book are used with permission from Home School in the Woods, www.homeschoolinthewoods.com.  They are for your personal use only.  The original printed version of A Month With Charlotte Mason came with timeline pages as well, but I cannot put those into this pdf version since the pages are protected by copyright.  You can buy your own copy of the timeline notebook from www.homeschoolinthewoods.com, or make your own.  Visit www.simplycharlottemason.com for a free (but not half as nice) book of centuries.
  • the file is HUGE!  Be VERY PATIENT.  There is nothing wrong with your computer!

As with the copywork file in the previous post, if you could leave feedback on this one also, that would be super!

Responses

  1. I LOVE YOU ANGIE! This is really God sent. Daniel has been nagging at me to do ‘home schooling’ stuff with him (he missed the good old days). I was scratching my head, trying to put something together for the kids this hol and lo and behold, I saw your post. 😀
    Will this be a yearly affair? Hee…

    • Hi Alice. Aw … I love you too! 🙂 Enjoy! Especially since you already have the timeline figures and book!

  2. you’re wonderful 🙂 thanks for this.

  3. Hi Angie, I haven’t look into the file yet. But is there a age for it? I wonder if its suitable to do with my girl who is turning 3 next Jan

  4. Thanks, Angie. Great insight to what a CM education is.

  5. Hi Mandy. Charlotte Mason did not believe that children under 6 should receive a formal education. 🙂 So this is for primary-school aged children. Enjoy your kids while they are still little!

  6. Thank you for this resource! You are such a blessing for putting this together and sharing it with us:) This will certainly help as I am struggling with knowing and planning what kind of books to select for my kids to read in a “school year”. Also, I have been thinking of getting Karen Andreola’s “A Charlotte Mason Companion” book. What are your thoughts of it? Would it prove helpful to new CM-ers?

    • Hi there Pei Yin. You’re most welcome! 🙂 This will only last you a month if you do it consistently and is rather heavy-going for starters, so feel free to go at your own pace. Karen Andreola’s book is written from her perspective as a CM practitioner. It i inspiring, but weaves her own practices and interpretation into the method. If you really want an easy to use summary, I suggest the Catherine Levison book instead – A Charlotte Mason Education. I have gone back to that book countless times to understand a particular practice. Enjoy!

  7. Just read your reply-and very happy to know that 🙂 This week we swam n just walk around drive 6 neighborhood-tats we do usually hol or not. Just that during hols-we take things at a slower pace. Also booked a court at the cc to play badminton later. 🙂

  8. Thanks, Angie. You’re brilliant!

    xxx

  9. hi there!

    IT is very generous of you to share this! Its timely as I am working on a reading project.

    Thank you very much!!!

  10. Hi Angie!

    Thanks for this! I will use this for my kids during their school holidays. It’s so useful and time saving for me. I used to find all the stuff myself … you’re so generous!

  11. […] the website so I won’t repeat it here.  Suffice it to say that when I put together my volume A Month with Charlotte Mason, I borrowed the idea from this […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

