Posted by: angiefm | August 31, 2010

Vegetarian Day II

It is the end of our second vegetarian day.  That’s 2 out of 5, or possibly 7 days.  Though it is looking more and more like 5.  😀  This is harder than I thought it would be!  Am totally out of my comfort zone in terms of planning, preparing, cooking, eating … But I am certainly trying lots of new things and expanding my repertoire of dishes.  😀  It is all good.

Breakfast

Tuesdays are our ELABORATE BREAKFAST days.  We started this practice a couple of months ago and the kids love it!  We have a cooked breakfast on Tuesdays – bacon, eggs, sausages, baked beans, French toast – not all at once of course. But bacon and eggs are our must haves.  Especially the bacon.

A typical Tuesday breakfast – Bacon, Eggs, Rosti potatoes.  But not today.

So this morning, when Tim realised it would just be eggs, he asked if we could have broccoli soup in lieu of bacon!  Those of you who read our earlier post on our going vegetarian will remember that he was our only dissenter.  😀  So I was quick to say YES to keep him happy and in the game.

Fortunately for me, we have the ULTIMATE gadget, which deserves a separate post of its own.  Soon.  Soon.  Wait for my RAVE review soon.

For now, let me simply introduce the THERMOMIX.  The many-in-one kitchen gadget which I use several times each and every day!

Just how cool is it?  Well, right after Tim asked for broccoli soup, I went to get two heads of broccoli from our week’s stash of vegetables, cut it up, threw it in, followed a recipe for cauliflower soup (which we made yesterday), and VOILA!  Within 30 mins of his request, we had these bowls of piping hot broccoli soup!

Lunch

For lunch, I cooked long beans with onions and a rosti omelett.  I threw in the eggs to satisfy the protein part of our very balanced meals.  🙂  The kids were skeptical.  They like their rosti as is.  But they did like the omelett version also.  Whew!  Also, they were very happy to have the long bean for lunch if I promised to put lots of onions in.  My children are very interesting eaters.  They LOVE onions, garlic and leeks.  Their current favourite dish is all three fried with bacon.  But let’s not get into bacon right now.  I’m starting to crave meat!

Nathalie with her vegetarian lunch.  Notice the gleeful look.  She’s not missing the meat at all, this one!

This is the brand of rosti we bought from NTUC.

Dinner

After last night’s lukewarm response to the eggplant pizza, I decided to redeem myself tonight with a 5-dish Chinese meal.  😀

 

On my plate (clockwise from the rice) are stir-fried (more like “boiled-long”) cabbage and carrots, long bean and onion omelett, sweet and sour egg tofu with tri-coloured capsicum (peppers) and onions and stir fried xiao bai cai.  In the bowl was my very feeble attempt to make a vegetable-based soup with winter melon.  The children agreed it tasted like water, but finished what they were served.  Great kids!  😛  But as soon as possible, I’m going back to my meat bone soups!

Stay tuned for more updates through the week!

Responses

  1. Thermomix!! Oh, I have heard much about it. Please post about it soon. By the way, how much does it cost, and where did you get it?

    • Will post by this weekend! 😀 It cost us 4898 Malaysian Ringgit. TC went to KL for a business trip and brought one back for me.

      But good news is, I may just be the first Thermomix Rep in Singapore! *grin* I’m a HUGE FAN of the machine. It will cost 5398 Malaysian Ringgit for it to be delivered to your doorstep, or if you can pick it up in Malaysia, it will cost you 4898.

  2. Hey Angie! have u found a wok or frying pan that is non stick yet chemical free, not too heavy yet easy to handle n can cook all the food at one time? I am looking around for one. The thermomix sure sound good altho I dunno wat it can do but it’s ex! Next time when my household needs warrant it, will get from u the spore rep!

    • Hmmm … no, I haven’t found anything chemical free, but then again, I haven’t been looking! Ha ha ha. From what I have read, the dangers of current non-stick coatings are at very high heat, way higher than you would normally get to when cooking. So I haven’t bothered. 🙂

  3. re: your fully veg winter melon soup.

    for veggie soups (without bone broth) you’ll needs lots of different veggies to make the stock sweet. for the soup base, onions, garlic, celery, carrots, leeks or spring onions are must-haves, imo, to add aroma n flavour.

    for something like winter melon, also add red dates and wolfberries to make it sweeter. mushroom stalks can also add flavour.

    you can also try adding spices like black peppercorns, cloves and a cinnamon stick to a soup with onion, celery, carrot, potato/pumpkin/sweet potato.

    the western veggie soups are easier cos you can add herbs to up the flavour.

    hth

    • Thanks for taking the time to help me out with the soup thing! 😀

      I used a homemade vege stock, which had celery, carrots, onions, tomatoes, zucchini, garlic, parsley … but still no kick leh. Should have remembered the red dates and wolfberries. I have them, but don’t usually make soups so completely forgot to add them!

      Live and learn! Thanks for the tips!

  4. Hey, had a long chat w a friend who only serves veg at home n boy, was I inspired! I’m also busy cutting down on meat. A veg seller recommended me to Brazil dried mushrooms to put in soup. Tasted yummy! Will cook it soon n let u know.


Leave a Reply

Categories

