Posted by: angiefm | March 4, 2010

What I’m Reading

 

My Bedside Table

(This is really what it looks like.  I didn’t stack the books for this photo, though I admit I did neaten the pile a little.  :))

I’ve been wanting to post about this, but kept thinking I should at least get through a few books and preview the others before I do.  Unfortunately TC and I have had a new obsession this year.  We watch an episode (or two, or three) of Prison Break every evening, which leaves me little or no time to read!  Ha ha ha.  Told him that after we finish season 4 (we just finished it yesterday!) we need to take a break from TV!  😀  But already my best friend (who is my source of DVDs) has passed us “Lie to Me” which she says is even better than “The Mentalist”.  Sigh …  

Anyway … ditching my need for perfectionism … here is a list of books that now sit on my bedside table, from the bottom of the pile up. 

The Real Life Home School Mom (It’s a Life in ReVision) by Virginia Knowles – almost finished this one, but it got stuck at the bottom of the stack and is hard to reach now.  Ha ha!  So haven’t finished it.

Precept Upon Precept by Debi Pryde – just started on this.  12 Bible study lessons, finished the first.  VERY thought provoking and convicting.  Will definitely be the subject of a future post(s)!

Groo Library by Sergio Aragones, ISBN 9781569715710 – TC and I LOVED this comic in our “younger” days.  And recently we were talking about them and laughing at the highly repetitive jokes/lines in the series and thought it would be fun to introduce them to our kids as well.  Still FUNNEE after all these years!!  😀

Organizing from the Inside Out by Julie Morgenstern, ISBN 9780805075892 – finished this but keeping it on my bedside to re-read and refer to as we plan our new home.  FANTASTIC read for anyone wanting to organise their homes/offices.

Fix, Freeze, Feast by Kati Neville and Lindsay Tkacsik, ISBN 9781580176828 – something I’m contemplating using when we go maidless.  Basically contains recipes you shop for in bulk, marinate/prepare 3 portions of anything, bag, freeze with cooking instructions, then thaw and cook when needed.

For the Children’s Sake by Susan Schaeffer Macaulay, ISBN 9781433506956 – I have read this, but want to re-read it.  Inspired me to embrace the Charlotte Mason philosophy the first time round, and I’m sure I’ll get more of it the second time round after we’ve “CM-ed” for a few years.

My Heart’s Home: Becoming the Intentional Mom Your Family Needs by Jill Savage, ISBN 9780736918268 – haven’t started reading this but it was recommended by Carissa and she has excellent taste in books.  Look out for an introduction to her online bookshop real soon!

Dancing with My Father: How God Leads Us into a Life of Grace and Joy by Sally Clarkson, ISBN 9780307457066 – haven’t read this but have enjoyed the Clarkson’s earlier books.

Rite of Passage Parenting by Walker Moore, ISBN 9780785289579 – have only read the introduction to this book.  Read it aloud to TC (which is really tough on him because he is a strong visual learner and has trouble processing things auditorily, but I still try.  Ha ha!) and we both agreed that it resonated with us, so it has made the reading list.

Keeping House: The Litany of Everyday Life by Margaret Kim Peterson, ISBN 9780787976910 – proving to be a good and thought-provoking read with an theological and academic bent.

One Hundred and One More Devotions for Homeschool Moms by Jackie Wellwood, ISBN 9781581343830 – haven’t read many of the 101, but the ones I have read have hit home.

100 Cupboards by N.D. Wilson, ISBN 9780375838811 – reading this aloud to the kids now.  It’s taken us a LONG TIME to get to almost the end.  Partly because of lack of time, partly because I have mixed feelings about the book.  The kids love it though.

Your Money or Your Life: 9 Steps to Transforming Your Relationship with Money and Achieving Financial Independence by Vicki Robin and Joe Dominquez, ISBN 9780143115762 – an inspiring book which challenges the way you look at money, working for money, spending money, financial independence, and generally how you want to live, what you want to do with/get out of your life.

The Story of the World Volume 1: Ancient Times: From the Earliest Nomads to the Last Roman Emperor by Susan Wise Bauer, ISBN 9781933339009 – heard and read so much about this book so finally decided we would do it this year.  Haven’t been very diligent about reading it though. 

Extreme Sudoku by Nikoli Publishing, ISBN 978-0761146223 – If you are a real fan of Sudoku, you just HAVE TO get the puzzles by Nikoli Publishing.  They are the people who started the craze and still only make hand-crafted Sudoku puzzles!  Once you do the ones by Nikoli, you are never going to be satisfied with the other puzzles.  Trust me.  😀  I do Sudoku puzzles to help me relax and fall asleep.  Honest!

If you look up the reviews and are interested in getting any of these books (with the exception of the first two), please contact Carissa from www.lifebetweenthecovers.com.  Introduction to this online bookshop will follow tomorrow.  Promise.  🙂

What are you reading this year?

Responses

  1. Oh man! Your bedside table looks just like mine! Hee! Actually, mine’s worse, my 1 bedside table has spawned 2 more piles on the bb’s plastic drawers next to it.

    My piles’ are not so ‘heavy’ though. They comprise mostly bb’s books which we read before bed every night (I pick abt 4 of them every night – Shirley Hughes’ Bathwater’s Hot is a hot fave, thanks so much for introducing her to us), a couple of cookbooks which I like to dip into for relaxation reading and for ideas for my weekly menu, a couple of books I’m trying to finish at the moment – Boundaries for Marriage and Milk, Money and Madness (stuck at the bottom, unfortunately). There’s also Siblings Without Rivalry, How to Talk to Kids (both by the same authors) which I tell myself I NEED to re-read but haven’t started (beyond moving them fr the shelf to the pile). Oh yes, and a couple of Ikea catalogues, for daydreaming abt my perfect home and to get organisation ideas.

  2. Great stack of books! I especially like the Extreme Sudoku and Fix, Freeze, Feast. 🙂
    I just picked up a new book called “Fear to Freedom” (author Rosemary Trible). It’s a biography about her life and how she was able to overcome some terrible personal tragedies through the use of forgiveness, prayer, and love. It’s about freeing herself from her fears. Should be excellent. http://www.feartofreedomjourney.com/Fear_To_Freedom/Book.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

