Posted by: angiefm | August 18, 2009

Smitten Again – A Daniel Update

I just remembered that there were blog readers out there who asked to see more photos of Daniel.  And I also wanted to blog about being smitten … again.

But first a photo of Daniel with the dimples. 
He’s our only child with dimples so we are always trying to catch them in action.  *grin*

Dimples

Here I am again enjoying babyhood all over again.  What is it about these little things that make you happily endure the night feeds, the endless diaper changes, the projectile vomitting, the having no life? 

Well I don’t know about you, but every time Daniel breaks into a smile and chuckles, every time he splashes too much water out of his little bathtub, every time I pick him up from his cot at 3 am and see his little lower-lip pout and get a whiff of his lovely baby smell, I think … AH … I’m in Love!  SMITTEN!   😀

Then one of the older children comes in, or does something that I find irritating, or doesn’t do something, and I SNAP!  And after a while I start to wonder … did I not love this child also in the same way?  Was I not similarly smitten?  Did I not marvel at God’s creation?  Did I not consider it an honour to participate in the birth of that life?  Did I not believe that this child was fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14)?  Did I not spend hours staring at this child and thanking the Lord for him/her?  What has changed then, to make me so irritable toward this child? 

So I’m trying now to bring to mind all the lovely things I see in my older children.  And TC and I are recalling all the funny or memorable things they did as babies.  And I am falling in love with them all over again.  It is a good thing.  🙂

Orange Blob

I took this photo just this morning.  They are always all smiles in the morning eh?  
Oh, and right after I ran out of memory space in my camera, he flipped over onto his back for the first time!  😀  

All 3 months

 3 drowned rats enjoying their brother after a swim and shower.  

 Thea Dan

 Chief baby-sitter with Daniel after his bath.

Responses

  1. A lovely complement to your previous post…we need these in-love moments to balance out the flare-up moments …
    heather

  2. Amen to that!! You have the knack of expressing exactly what we all go through. I too, must keep reminding myself the GRRRRR older ones were once just like the adorable little one in my arms.

  3. Daniel is absolutely gorgeous and Alethea is such a dear sister, taking good care of him. You have brought your kids up very well, Angie. Everyone of them is SO GOOD NATURED! God Bless!

  4. The pic of Daniel smiling is lovely! Yes thanks for sharing and I totally agree with you coz I’m constantly irritated by my 4-year old son while I must say I’m in love too with my younger one at 11 months.

    And yes I am also going to do the same – to recall all the lovely and funny things my older son has done and are still doing!

  5. This is soo sweet, Angie. This boy looks so chuckly and happy, no doubt because he’s got so much attention from so many adoring fans.

    Daniel, love your smile!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

