Posted by: angiefm | June 29, 2009

Rest?? You've Got to be Kidding!

REST.

I keep hearing that word.  People ask, “Are you getting enough REST?”  Or advise, “Remember, you need your REST.”  Hubby asks at the end of the day, “Did you get time to REST?”  Other moms say, “Try to REST when the baby’s napping.”

But with 3 older kids, a newborn in the house, waking up several times a night to nurse, homeschooling, homemaking, running the Home Library, responding to people’s need for help and advice, REST is the one thing I do NOT get enough of.

Then people ask the other question … “How DO you do it all?”  They say, “I’m amazed at how much you’re doing!”  “If I were you, I’d never be able to do all that!”  “Do you ever sleep?”

And the truth is, I have no idea how I keep going.  I just do.  And some days I DO  want to give up.  Not all of it.  Just parts.  “Shut down the Home Library!” has become my favourite rant on bad days.  But as my dear friend Serene is quick to remind me, if the Lord called me to start The Home Library, then I have to wait for Him to tell me to close it!  🙂

And by extension that goes for all of life.  I have been called to be a follower of Christ, to be a wife, a mother of 4, a homeschool mom, the sole proprietor of The Home Library, a friend to some, a confidante to others, a cheer-leader to still more.  And for as long as I remain called, I will continue to do what I have been called to do!

One of the gifts Daniel received was a CD titled The Praise Baby Collection: Born to Worship.  It claims to be able to calm and comfort your child (don’t believe everything you read!), but it is the older children and I who have been enjoying it.  Last week, while TC was away in the US on a business trip, and I was going solo, we were in the car on the way to some place fast and Daniel was screaming his head off (not unusual).  And Track 11 started playing.  “Jesus, I am resting, resting”.  (You can listen to it here.)

I sang along …

Jesus I am resting, resting
In the Joy of what Thou art;
I am finding out the greatness
Of Thy loving heart.
Thou hast bid me gaze upon Thee,
And Thy beauty fills my soul,
For by Thy transforming power
Thou hast made me whole.

Jesus, I am resting, resting
In the joy of what Thou art;
I am finding out the greatness
Of Thy loving heart.

The tears welled up in my eyes.  RESTING??  You’ve got to be kidding, Lord!  RESTING??  I was feeling so far from being rested!

The song played on …

O how great Thy loving kindness.
Vaster, broader than the sea!
O how marvellous Thy goodness,
Lavished all on me!
Yes, I rest in Thee, Beloved,
Know what wealth of grace is Thine,
Know Thy certainty of promise,
And have made it mine.

We got to where we had to go.  But my heart was not at peace.  Where was I to find this rest which He promised in Matthew 11:28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  I did not feel rested.  But whenever I felt things getting to me, I hummed the song again. 

Simply trusting Thee, Lord Jesus,
I behold Thee as Thou art,
And Thy love, so pure, so changeless,
Satisfies my heart;
Satisfies its deepest longings,
Meets supplies its every need,
Compasseth me round with blessings;
Thine is love indeed!

“Simply trusting Thee, Lord Jesus.”  I started to get it.  It isn’t about ME, it’s about HIM!

Ever lift Thy face upon me,
As I work and wait for Thee;
Resting ‘neath Thy smile, Lord Jesus,
Earth’s dark shadows flee.
Brightness of my Father’s glory,
Sunshine of my Father’s face,
Keep me ever trusting, resting;
Fill me with Thy grace.

Then today, we were reading Psalm 112.  And verse 7 jumped right out at me.  It reads, “He will have no fear of bad news; his heart is steadfast, trusting in the LORD.”  The verse doesn’t say “He is not HAVE bad news”.  But he will not FEAR it.  I put problems, anxieties and the physical burdens of life into the same category.  The Lord doesn’t promise us an easy life on earth.  But He does promise eternal rest.

Am I rested?  No way!  Not physically.  Not by a long shot.  And I don’t think any of us will ever be truly rested in this world.

But I am learning what true rest is.  It is in praising the Lord, fearing Him and delighting in His commands (Psalm 112:1).

May you also find true REST in the only one who can give it.

Responses

  1. Hah! I would’ve taken the current situation that God has blessed you with (little rest) as a big sign that you don’t have time for biz. I do – for myself at least, but this is a bad time to sellout, economically. Not wise. But deconstruction is seriously tempting and probably wise in my situation. Don’t know about yours!

  2. Thanks Angie for your inspiring article! I can emphatize as I am also still nursing. I have 2 but you have 4 so I know its alot tougher. Appreciate the advise that you still continue to give via the forum or email, managing sales of online library etc Yours is a people-to-people ministry and it has blessed many. In times of low, I pray that may your strength be ever from the Lord, may your steps be ever keeping with the holy spirit, may your heart be light, and may your feet be steadfast, planted upon his words. Be still and know that he is Lord. God bless!

  3. Amen sister! Hang in there. It does get easier – and then it gets harder then easier 🙂 Ok, dont take advice from someone who’s as tired as you. Lol!

    My fav artiste at the moment, (my lifesaver!) Chris Tomlin has a song called “Everlasting God” and the song starts with “Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord as we wait upon the Lord…” And it’s true! Is 40:31.

  4. Motherhood… And the rest is history..

  5. hi angie

    i’m v encouraged by the songs and bible verses u shared in response to getting rest. pls do share similar testimonies in future if u can . its really touching lives with God’s living word. thanks

  6. I echo what others have said so far. You are simply amazing! Continue to proof to us all it CAN be done!

    I have recently been reminded to do it all NOT with my own strength but with the Lord’s. He is like the wind beneath our wings. We don’t need to be flapping madly. We can soar and yet “rest”.

  7. Hi Angie

    When the rest is History, I’m so confident you’ll be God’s true and faithful follower of Christ, an endearing wife your hubby is so proud of, greatest mother of 4, one of few proven dedicated and awed homeschool mom in Singapore, the successful sole proprietor of The Home Library, a wonderful friend to many, a precious confidante to others, the loudest cheer-leader bringing light to the world, touching and healing hearts in ways that are in His plans! Hang on there! If you need my help to wrap your books, please call me. hehehe! Smile 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

