Posted by: angiefm | March 7, 2009

In Retrospect – When Mummy's Unwell …

After a second visit to the osteopath, I’m well enough to sit on hard straight-backed chairs!  Sitting in the car still causes me pain though.  No fun.  But on Thursday I ventured out as “ahmad” (local term for chauffeur) to the children’s gym classes again for the first time in 2 weeks!  Of course pain lah.  But so good to be on the move again!  🙂  So THANKFUL to be able to get out of the house!

Thought that before I forgot all about what happened over the last two weeks, I should say a few words about it …

First up, SCHOOL DID GO ON!  🙂  Isn’t that the beauty of homeschooling?  The teacher can be lying in bed and STILL conduct her classes in prone-position. 

This is a picture from my perspective during those two weeks.  We dragged our IKEA (look familiar?) table and put it at the foot of my bed.  What I forgot to get was a photo of the books strewn all over the bed!

room-school

The kids did all their seat work here, then climbed into bed for read-alouds/poetry/picture studies, etc.  But no, we did not finish all that we had planned each week.  And after 3 weeks of immobility and tiredness and general grouchiness (YES, I DO GET GROUCHY!), we are now left with about an additional week’s worth of readings (we finished all our planned seatwork in the mornings before I crashed out in the afternoons).  So we are going to have to keep going through our school holidays in the week of March 16th.  I don’t want to get any “behinder”.

Also, TECHNOLOGY was a great help for our narrations.  I couldn’t prop myself up for long enough to type the children’s narrations, so instead, I got them to record them on my computer so that I could transcribe them at a later date.  And now I have their precious voices on record as well!  SO CUTE!  🙂  I’m thinking of continuing with this practice even after I’m up and about.

Second, the children really pulled their weight during the last two weeks.  They pulled books off shelves and packed and cleaned up after themselves, and they tried very hard to be obedient first time, every time.  Which brings me to …

Third, being confined to bed is an excellent time to train your children.  *grin*  Really.  The first couple of days of being in bed, I finished reading Raising Godly Tomatoes.  For more on the family behind the book and the book itself, go to www.raisinggodlytomatoes.com.  And Tee Chiou and I continued the conversation about training our children, especially Nathalie, who seems to have gotten off rather lightly in this department.  😦  So I decided I would do some “tomato staking” while I was in bed.  Just so I can find what I wrote later, I will write a separate post about this. 

Fourth, it was a time for me to learn patience (I was really short on this), humility (accepting help from people) and thankfulness (for all the things I can do when so many people out there are unable to get out of bed).  It was also time to reflect on the Lord’s blessings in my life through people – my parents, my best friend, my husband, my children, all my friends, customers and total strangers.

So while I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND this to anyone, and I am praying this will NEVER happen to me again, it was all for good.  Isn’t it always for our good?  (Romans 8:28 – And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

